The teacher can post to one or more classes, or to individual students in a class, and set a due date. Teachers control access to any files they attach until assigned.
When attaching a Drive file (document, slides, or sheets), the teacher can choose to:
- Allow students to view the file—All students can read the file, but not edit it.
- Allow students to edit the file—All students share the same file and can edit it.
- Make a copy of the file for each student—Students get an individual copy of the file that they can edit. The student’s name is automatically added to the document title. When a student turns in the assignment, the teacher sees the file labeled with the student’s name.
As students work on an assignment, the teacher can view their progress, add comments, and make edits in the documents.